• Issue: January 2010
  • Designer: Eli Carmeli
  • Stamp Size: 30.8 mm x 40 mm
  • Plate no.: 785 (one phosphor bar)
  • Sheet of 15 stamps, Tabs: 5
  • Printers: E. Lewin-Epstein Ltd.
  • Method of printing: Offset

The Arava Valley is an area of fascinating and breathtaking views with tremendous potential for business and tourism. The continually growing local desert and rural tourist industry boasts rare natural resources, hiking routes and other attractions. In addition, the Incense Route was recognized as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in July 2005.

The Central Arava and Eilot Regional Councils stretch over 2,800 square kilometers, which is roughly 17% of the area of Israel. The two regional councils house about 7,000 residents, living in 20 residential communities, kibbutzim, agricultural moshav communities and rural communities. The main sources of livelihood among the area's residents are agriculture, tourism, services and industry.

Local agricultural crops include dates, peppers and various field crops as well as the dairy industry, with the Yotvata Dairy at its core. The Arava farmers produce some 60% of Israel's vegetable exports, 10% of the country's cut flowers and some 90% of the ornamental fish exported from Israel. Arava agriculture is highly advanced, employing some of the most sophisticated techniques in the world, as well as "green" growing methods of pest control.The area is home to the Ardour date packing plant, agricultural research & development centers, a telecommunications company and more.

The Arava Region offers rustic accommodations, providing guests with fascinating hiking-and bird watching routes as well as tourist attractions, the central of which is Timna Park, hosting some 150,000 visitors annually. Several archeological sites are under development, including the Ovda Valley and ancient agricultural sites dating from the 5th century B.C.E.

The Arava is very committed to environmental issues and the Blot region is at the forefront of the continually growing renewable energy field, in cooperation with The Arava Institute for Environmental Studies (AIES), government ministries and private companies from Israel and abroad. The Central Arava Regional Council is the first Israeli regional council to meet the international ISO 14000 Environmental Standard.

The stamp marking 50 years of Arava settlement symbolizes and commemorates the determination of Arava settlers to turn the desert valley into flourishing, attractive settlements for new residents, visionary entrepreneurs and tourists.

Ezra Ravins
Head of the Central
Arava Regional Council

Udi Gat
Head of the Eilot
Regional Council

top top

Fifty Years of Settling the Arava