• Issue: May 2004
  • Designer: Aharon Shevo & Gad Almaliah
  • Stamp Size: 30.8 mm x 30.8 mm
  • Plate no.: 554 (two phosphor bars)
  • Sheet of 12 stamps (regular sheet with decorated selvage) Tabs: 4
  • Printers: E. Lewin-Epstein Ltd.
  • Method of printing: offset

The inclusion of football in the Olympic Games in 1900 paved the way for the foundation of FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association). FIFA was founded on May 21, 1904, by the representatives of the Football Associations of France, Belgium, Denmark, Holland, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. FIFA was involved in arranging football tournaments for the Olympic games in 1908 and 1912.

The success of the Olympic football tournaments in 1924 and 1928 led FIFA to establish their own competition, the FIFA World Cup TM. Uruguay, who won the gold medal in the 1928 Olympic games, hosted the first FIFA World Cup TM in 1930. The FIFA Congress, which met after the 1930 FIFA World Cup TM, decided that this competition would take place every 4 years. The game rules were also determined by FIFA.

Over 200 national teams participate in the FIFA World Cup TM Qualifications. These teams compete within their respective continental Confederations. The FIFA World Cup TM is the most popular competition in the world today. The Brazilian National Team won the FIFA World Cup TM 5 times. Italy and Germany won 3 times each.

The Football Association of Eretz Israel joined FIFA in 1928, and participated for the first time in the FIFA World Cup TM in 1934. After the establishment of the State of Israel, the organization's name changed to the "Israel Football Association". Israel participated in the FIFA World Cup TM finals in 1970 in Mexico.

The Israel Football Association

top top

100 Years of the Federation Internationale de Football Association - FIFA